MRS graduates celebrated at UTDRO pre-convocation reception

Jun 11, 2018

MRS pre-convocation reception 2018MRS pre-convocation reception 2018 This spring 2018, 88 students graduated from the Medical Radiation Sciences (MRS) joint program offered through the University of Toronto’s Department of Radiation Oncology (UTDRO) and the Michener Institute of Education at UHN. Through this program students are educated in one of three streams: radiological technology, radiation therapy or nuclear medicine. To honour the graduates, the Department hosted a pre-convocation reception that included an awards ceremony and a catered lunch at Hart House on June 7, 2018.

Cathryne Palmer, Director of the MRS program, opened the awards reception and Dr. Rebecca Wong, Vice Chair of Education at UTDRO, provided a few congratulatory words to the graduates on behalf of Dr. Fei-Fei Liu, UTDRO Chair.  

Palmer commented on some of the realities of the profession. “You are now ready to practice in a health care environment that continues to experience rapid change, both in technology and in the demands and expectations that are placed upon its practitioners,” said Palmer. “This is particularly so in our professions, where the explosion of technology is already driving change in our practice.”

Along with the graduates, Palmer acknowledged the hard work and dedication of the faculty who provide instruction and mentorship throughout the joint program. Dr. Wong and Kieng Tan, Academic Coordinator of the MRS program, helped to hand out the awards.

In the final year of the MRS program, students complete either a clinical or a research project. The award winners for the class of 2018 were the following:

Research Awards

  • Award for Excellence in Research Methods – Charis Lin (Radiological Technology)
  • Honourable Mention for the Research Award – Harleen Dhillon (Radiation Therapy)

Clinical Project Awards

  • Clinical Project Award for Excellence in Radiological Technology – Kerri Koens
  • Honourable Mention in Radiological Technology (tie) – Rachel Lammers
  • Honourable Mention in Radiological Technology (tie) – Cynthia Yang
  • Clinical Project Award for Excellence in Radiation Therapy – Walter Alanguilan Jr.
  • Honourable Mention in Radiation Therapy Honourable Mention – Colin Robertson

Research Informing Practice Award

  • Award for Excellence in Research Informing Practice – Hyeln Haley Lee (Nuclear Medicine)
  • Honourable Mention in Nuclear Medicine – Anastasia Adriyanta (Nuclear Medicine)

Students with the highest cumulative grade point average were also recognized through bronze, silver and gold medals:

Grade Point Average Awards

  • Gold Medal Winner (tie) – Kerri Lynn Koens (Radiological Technology)
  • Gold Medal Winner (tie) – Sayanthika Niranjan (Radiological Technology)
  • Silver Medal Winner – Megan Groenendijk (Radiological Technology)
  • Bronze Medal Winner (tie) – Brianna Chin-Ching Tang (Radiological Technology)
  • Bronze Medal Winner (tie) – Cynthia Tsz Yin Yang (Radiological Technology)

The final award recognized an MRS student who has made an exceptional contribution to the program:

Volunteer Award

  • Nicole Barber (Radiation Therapy)

Palmer concluded the reception with some inspiring words, “Health care is an extremely gratifying profession. Never lose sight of why you chose health care — the patient. Enjoy it and I wish each and every one of you the best in you future careers.”

View the MRS pre-convocation reception photo album.

Visit the Bachelor of Science in Medical Radiation Sciences on our website to learn more about the program.