Chair's Welcome

This is an excerpt from the 2015-2016 annual report.


Welcome to the University of Toronto’s Department of Radiation Oncology (UTDRO) Annual Report for 2015-2016.

As we enter the 25th year of UTDRO, we are celebrating the thousands of people who have worked together to make UTDRO one of the most respected Radiation Medicine departments in the world.

Over the last 25 years, UTDRO has evolved from infancy to a department with strong educational programs and internationally-renowned faculty members. Our trainees are working around the world, sharing their clinical and research expertise, the results of which are having a tremendous impact on cancer care globally. We are now entering a new era in this evolution: our faculty and partner hospitals are investing time, funds and energy in leading biological and technological advances in Radiation Medicine, in a synergistic capacity. Throughout this annual report, you will see examples where UTDRO faculty members are leading the medical and scientific evolution of cancer care.

Our department’s successes would not be possible without our talented faculty and outstanding trainees. I am proud to call each of the individuals profiled in this report my colleagues. I am also proud to welcome 16 new faculty members to the UTDRO family – one that has grown to several thousand individuals, making their impact around the world.

I also want to remember Dr. Michael Sharpe who passed away this year. He was a brilliant physicist, a colleague and a friend to all of us at UTDRO and beyond. Our sympathies and best wishes go out to his family, friends and colleagues.

Our department is still very young, yet it has a strong role to play in transforming cancer care around the world. Not only is our Fellowship Program well-known around the world, our residency programs also garner great respect from our national and international colleagues. In this report, you will read about the impact of UTDRO in growing the Radiation Medicine profession in Canada. I anticipate that in the coming years, our reputation as an academic department will continue to grow. Of course, this is not possible without a firm support system for our students and learners. I encourage you to continue to support the BJ Cummings Award for Research Excellence, and the Pam Catton Award for Interprofessional Education.

Lastly, I would like to extend my gratitude to our current Vice Chairs, Drs. Michael Milosevic Rebecca Wong, and Shun Wong for their counsel, assistance and support of our initiatives. I would also like to give a special shout-out to Dr. David Jaffray, UTDRO’s previous Vice Chair of Research, for his years of advice and oversight. My thanks also to our Executive Team for their commitment and hard work in deploying our programs, and supporting our trainees. None of this would be possible without the UTDRO administrative team who work tirelessly behind-the-scenes to ensure the smooth operation of our department.

Please browse through the 2015-2016 Annual Report and stay in touch with us online through our various social media channels.

Thank you,

Dr. Fei-Fei Liu, MD, FRCPC
Chair and Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology

Image Credit: Donna Santos Photography


<<  Previous                    [Return to Annual Report Table of Contents]                    Next >>


Back to Top